The Chevy Camaro was redesigned in 2016, and the improvements continued with some excellent refinements for 2017. In addition, the new Camaro lineup features a special-edition 50th anniversary package that provides some special branding and extra touches. There are now more engine choices available for 2017, but many people who want a muscle car want the big 8-cylinder power machine. There are two trim levels to choose from this year - the LT and SS - and each of them are divided into two additional trims - the 1LT and the 2LT. Special performance packages are also available to further customize your new Camaro, including a 640-horsepower version equipped with a manual transmission as standard. Each trim level is also available as a coup or a convertible. This is a muscle car that still has all the personality fans originally fell in love with, without giving up comfort or technology. Reviewers say the Camaro handles even better for 2017, and performs as well as ever, while giving high-tech options that most motorists want along with the coveted powerful performance you can only find in a Camaro. Keep reading to learn more about the 2017 Camaro trim levels, so you can choose the one that’s right for you.

2017 Chevrolet Camaro Trim Levels

  • 1LT
  • 2LT
  • 1SS
  • 2SS


The base model is the 1LT, which features a 2.0-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder engine that packs a major punch. The 1LT cranks out 275 horsepower and 295 pounds of torque. A V-6 is also available for this trim. An eight-speed automatic transmission allows you to change gears on demand to add some flexibility. The 1LT has the standard sports suspension package that offers a nimble feel in curves. The base package has a power sunroof available for the coup. A six-speed manual transmission is also available, and a six-speaker audio system comes standard, with an optional Bose premium system available. Teen driver mode is standard, as well as a rear vision camera. Park assist, lane change warning and cross traffic alerts are all options at this level.


  • 2.0 Liter four-cylinder engine
  • Sports suspension package standard
  • Teen driver mode is standard


The 2LT makes a few modifications to the 1LT, mostly from a comfort standpoint. The 2LT adds some leather inside, and arguably more comfortable seats. The turbocharged four-cylinder is standard, and the V6 is available as an option. The six-speed manual transmission is standard, and the eight-speed automatic is optional. The 2LT package adds the Bose premium audio system, Sirus Satellite radio and OnStar guidance as standard equipment. A performance suspension package is also available on the 2LT. Heated front seats and rear folding seats are standard. Rear park assist and rear cross traffic alert are options on the 2LT. Blind spot warning can be added as an option.


  • Leather interior
  • Bose premium audio
  • Rear parking assist and traffic alert options


The 1SS raises the level to a more serious muscle car, with a 6.2-liter V8 direct-injection engine as standard. This engine produces 455 horsepower and 455 pounds of torque. The four- and six-cylinder options are not available a this level. The six-speed manual transmission is standard and the eight-speed automatic is an option. This level takes a step back in the sound system, with the six-speaker sound system standard and the premium system not available. Satellite radio free for 12 months and OnStar are standard. Keyless entry and remote-start are standard on the 1SS, as well. 20-inch wheels and performance tires are also standard.


  • 6.2 liter V8 engine
  • High-performance sports package available
  • Manual transmission standard


The 2SS is the top dog of the 2017 Camaro lineup, and the option that offers the most powerful performance. This version can go from zero to 60 in 4.2 seconds, which is the fastest rated of any car in this class. The eight-cylinder engine is the only option at this level. A six-speed manual transmission is standard and the eight-speed automatic is optional. A stability-control braking system is added as standard. Rear parking assist, as well as front parking assist and a rear camera are all standard. Lane changing warning systems, blind spot detector and brake assist are all available as options. The premium audio system is standard on the 2SS, as well. A special ZL1 sports package is available on this trim level, which cranks out 640 horsepower and is likely to leave competitors in the dust.


  • Premium audio system standard
  • Zero to 60 in 4.2 seconds
  • Stability control braking


No matter which 2017 Camaro you choose, you’re sure to enjoy top-tier performance, impressive handling and unmistakable presence on the road. This model year brings you everything that made people fall in love with the Camaro brand in the first place, and with several trims and packages to choose from, there is something to fit just about anyone’s needs and budget. Which trim level will you choose?