The Buick Lacrosse is a full-sized luxury sedan which has been dramatically restyled for 2017. The goal restyling Buick’s flagship vehicle was to shake the brand’s image and improve its appeal to more youthful drivers. The new Lacrosse is designed with a quiet interior, a gorgeous exterior, efficient performance and high-quality safety capabilities. Be aware, though, that many of the listed features are marked as “available.” This car’s elegant trim levels come packed with options, but you may need to upgrade with additional options packages to get all the latest bells and whistles. The 2017 Lacrosse comes in four trim levels - Standard, Preferred, Essence and Premium. Read on to learn more about these top-rated options.

2017 Buick Lacrosse trim levels

  • Standard
  • Preferred
  • Essence
  • Premium


The standard trim echoes back to the days when television was in black and white. If you buy the Standard trim, you’ll only be able to choose from those two basic colors without paying extra. That said, the Lacrosse Standard does come with quite a few features such as keyless ignition and phone integration (with a built-in 4G wi-fi hotspot). It can be switched between automatic and manual modes, it has variable effort steering and a proprietary StabiliTrak stability enhancement system. Yes, this is definitely a fairy luxurious vehicle even at the standard trim level, but true luxury car enthusiasts will be more satisfied with the upper trim levels.


  • Only comes in black and white
  • In-built wi-fi hotspot
  • StabiliTrak stability enhancement


The next trim level up is the Preferred. Additions include integrated SiriusXM, power tilt and telescoping steering wheel and a cargo net. You still have to pay extra for color, and the interior has bucket seats in front rather than standard seats. Not many perks separate this trim from the Standard package, but the few additional perks are justified by just a small increase in price. This trim also gets a trunk cargo net to keep your belongings from sliding around.


  • Powered steering column
  • Bucket seats
  • Integrated SiriusXM


The Essence is the first trim level to really have “luxury” amenities. The list of features on this trim includes adaptive headlights, heated and power-adjustable seats with driver memory functions, leather upholstery, wireless smartphone charging and auto-dimming mirrors. The Lacrosse Essence is definitely a step up from the two lower trim levels.


  • Leather-appointed seating
  • Auto-dimming rearview mirror
  • Articulating headlamps


The top end Premium adds a heated steering wheel, heads-up display and massaging front seats. It also adds a bunch of safety features including forward collision alert, lane keep assist, and side blind zone alert. These are pretty important safety features and may well be worth paying the considerable extra price for. To get the really interesting stuff, though, you have to add packages. Adaptive cruise control, for example, only comes with the Driver Confidence Package. In other words, Buick has a tendency towards putting very useful things as optional extras. Oh, and you still have to pay extra for anything but black or white.


  • Heated steering wheel
  • Lane-keep assist
  • Side blind zone alert


The Buick Lacrosse definitely has the image to attract a younger audience and no longer looks like grandfather’s car. With numerous trims and optional packages to choose from, the newly redesigned Lacrosse can be either a solid entry-level luxury car or a stylish ride that’s built to impress.